13 Week Dr. Appointment

My 13 week doctors visit was on Friday May 13th and this was a long one. In total we were at the office for almost 2 and a half hours. The nurse asked tons of questions about family health history on both sides. Then I had a routine prenatal visit with things like my weight, getting urine sample for glucose testing and blood pressure. At this visit we would also be hearing the baby’s heart beat for the first time. Greg and I were both excited to hear it! The heart rate was at a strong 154. As excited as we were about hearing the heartbeat for the first time we were even more excited that we got to see the baby at this visit, too!

I wasn’t expecting to have an ultrasound today but the U/S was one part of the Nuchal Translucency Screening, for short it’s called an┬áN/T Scan (if you click on the blue underlined words it will send you to a link better explaining the screening). The N/T scan is normally done between 11 and 14 weeks. Because my appointment was at 13 weeks and 3 days I didn’t have a choice but to do the screening that day. As much as I felt “rushed” to get the screening done… I was so incredibly elated that we got to see the lil’ nugget again.

The baby has grown so much! It is truly amazing too see how the baby is really looking like a baby now on the U/S and not just a lil’ blob. The second part of the N/T scan is blood work and if I say so myself it went MUCH better than when they took blood at my first appointment at week 8. I did not shed a tear this time… I just took deep breaths and kept talking to the nurse. I mean hey, I’ve gotta get used to this needle thing. A little birdie told me there are more in my future.

My next appointment is in 3 weeks and it’s just a routine prenatal exam. No ultrasounds or blood work. Should be a breeze!

Leave a Reply

